February 9, 2016

NU’s Martinez on O’Brien watch list

The Davey O’Brien Foundation announced the 2012 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List today and Nebraska quarterback Taylor Martinez is on the list, which features 34 of the nation’s best college quarterbacks who were selected based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2012 college football season.

Seven 2011 semifinalists are included on the Watch List: Matt Barkley (USC), Tajh Boyd (Clemson), Seth Doege (Texas Tech), Landry Jones (Oklahoma), Keith Price (Washington), Denard Robinson (Michigan) and Tyler Wilson (Arkansas).

Appearing on the Watch List is not a requirement for a player to win the Davey O’Brien Award. Quarterbacks from all 124 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Oct. 22. The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 19. The 2012 Davey O’Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 6.

The 36th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner will be held Feb. 18, 2013 in Fort Worth, Texas.

2012 Davey O’Brien Watch List

Ryan Aplin, Arkansas State, Sun Belt

Matt Barkley, USC, Pac-12

Tajh Boyd, Clemson, ACC

Tyler Bray, Tennessee, SEC

Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville, Big East

Alex Carder, Western Michigan, MAC

Derek Carr, Fresno State, MWC

B.J. Daniels, USF, Big East

Seth Doege, Texas Tech, Big 12

Cody Fajardo, Nevada, MWC

James Franklin, Missouri, SEC

Mike Glennon, N.C. State, ACC

Landry Jones, Oklahoma, Big 12

Collin Klein, Kansas State, Big 12

EJ Manuel, Florida State, ACC

Taylor Martinez, Nebraska, Big Ten

AJ McCarron, Alabama, SEC

Braxton Miller, Ohio State, Big Ten

Aaron Murray, Georgia, SEC

Riley Nelson, BYU, Independent

Casey Pachall, TCU, Big 12

Keith Price, Washington, Pac-12

Sean Renfree, Duke, ACC

Bryn Renner, North Carolina, ACC

Denard Robinson, Michigan, Big Ten

Nathan Scheelhaase, Illinois, Big Ten

Connor Shaw, South Carolina, SEC

Geno Smith, West Virginia, Big 12

Trent Steelman, Army, Independent

Tyler Tettleton, Ohio, MAC

Logan Thomas, Virginia Tech, ACC

Jeff Tuel, Washington St, Pac-12

James Vandenberg, Iowa, Big Ten

Tyler Wilson, Arkansas, SEC

Print pagePDF pageEmail page