February 14, 2016

Big Ten will not realign divisions following NCAA’s penalties on Penn State

When Nebraska joined the Big Ten, the Huskers were considered one of four “cornerstone football programs,” along with Michigan, Ohio State and Penn State. Those schools were split, with Nebraska and Michigan entering the Legends Division and the other two being placed in the Leader’s Division.  The move was  to create competitive balance within the conference.  With Monday’s announcement of  discipline handed down by the NCAA, Big Ten Commissioner Jim Delaney says there are no plans to realign the division to keep that  balance in order, nor will the conference look to add more teams. Ohio State is ineligible for post season play this season and now Penn State joins them.

Also, the head of the Big Ten Council of Presidents and Chancellors, Iowa President Sally Mason, said expulsion of Penn State from the league was considered. On a Monday teleconference, Mason said “Everything was on the table,” but said no formal motions or movements were made about expulsion.

Print pagePDF pageEmail page