November 23, 2014

NU men’s non-conference basketball schedule

The Huskers will play nine home games in their final season at the  Devaney Center, including the Joe Cipriano Nebraska Classic, which features Valparaiso, Nebraska-Omaha, Tulane and Kent State. Nebraska will also face Southern (Nov. 11), USC (Dec. 3), Creighton (Dec. 6), Jacksonville State (Dec. 18) and Nicholls State (Dec. 29) at the Devaney Center as the non-conference schedule was released.  First year head coach Tim Miles is ready to go.

“I’m excited to get going with the season,” Miles said. “Every year is different in how you create a non-conference schedule. Some teams need more of a challenge, and some need more grooming so you prepare accordingly. This one is a nice mix of everything. I think we will be challenged a great deal, and we will know exactly what we have going into the start of Big Ten play.” 

In addition, the Huskers will make trips to Wake Forest (Nov. 27), Oregon (Dec. 15) as well as participate in the Sun Bowl Invitational (Dec. 22-23). 

Wednesday Nov. 7 Midland University (exhibition) Devaney Center TBA
Sunday Nov. 11 Southern Devaney Center TBA
Thursday Nov. 15 Valparaiso (Joe Cipriano Nebraska Classic) Devaney Center TBA
Sunday Nov. 18 Nebraska-Omaha (Joe Cipriano Nebraska Classic) Devaney Center TBA
Wednesday Nov. 21 Tulane (Joe Cipriano Nebraska Classic) Devaney Center TBA
Saturday Nov. 24 Kent State (Joe Cipriano Nebraska Classic) Devaney Center TBA
Tuesday Nov. 27 at Wake Forest (ACC/Big Ten Challenge) (ESPNU) Winston-Salem, N.C. 8:15 p.m.
Monday Dec. 3 USC Devaney Center TBA
Thursday Dec. 6 Creighton Devaney Center TBA
Saturday Dec. 15 at Oregon Eugene, Ore. TBA
Tuesday Dec. 18 Jacksonville State Devaney Center TBA
Saturday Dec. 22 vs. Central Michigan (Sun Bowl Invitational) El Paso, Texas 10 p.m.
Sunday Dec. 23 vs. UTEP/Arkansas Pine Bluff (Sun Bowl Invitational) El Paso, Texas 6/8 p.m.
Saturday Dec. 29 Nicholls State Devaney Center TBA