February 13, 2016

UNO Aviation Institute program earns national recognition

The Aviation Institute at the University of Nebraska – Omaha received a huge honor today. Director Scott Vlasek says UNO is very pleased to become part of the history of the prestigious Loening Trophy. This trophy was first awarded in 1929 when the judges were Charles Lindbergh and Amelia Earhart and Grover Loening, the first aeronautical engineer for the Wright Brothers.

Vlasek says in May the UNO team competed in the national SAFECON competition in Kansas City. There were 28 teams competing and UNO’s Aviation Institute was selected as the outstanding collegiate aviation program in the country. Judges look at excellence in aeronautical skills, academics, community involvement, comprehensive safety, professionalism and pro-active involvement in determining the future of aviation.

Print pagePDF pageEmail page