February 8, 2016

High school softball state championship fields are set

The softball state championships begin on Wednesday in Hastings.  Three teams are making their state debut this week:  Omaha Benson at 23-8 will start against #1 ranked Millard West at 10 a.m. in their Class A debut.  Millard South is the defending champ in Class A.  The other two first-timers, York and Grand Island Northwest make their debuts in Class B.  York is the #2 seed and Northwest the #3 seed.  Omaha Skutt looks to repeat as champ in Class B.  Wahoo goes for the three-peat in Class C, but will have a tough road ahead of them with a likely matchup coming up on Thursday against #2 seed Fairbury that went 27-7 this season.

Softball State Championship Brackets

State teams at a glance:


Millard West, 28-1
Coach: Don Brummer
State appearance: 12th (runner-up, 2004)

Millard South, 25-5
Coach: Steve Kerkman
State appearance: 13th (champion, 2005, 2011; runner-up, 1994, 1996, 2010)

Papillion-La Vista South, 25-6
Coach: Dan Hogan
State appearance: 6th

Papillion-La Vista 26-7
Coach: Todd Petersen
State appearance: 20th (champion, 1995-2004, 2006, 2007, 2010; runner-up, 2005, 2008)

Lincoln Southeast 26-9
Coach: Tim Roberson
State appearance: 14th (champion 1994, runner-up 2001)

Bellevue West 21-9
Coach: Casie Onken
State appearance: 2nd

Omaha Benson 23-8
Coach: Bob Woodworth
State appearance: 1st


Omaha Skutt 25-4
Coach: Keith Engelkamp
State appearance: 7th, (champion, 2011; runner-up, 2008)

York 27-3
Coach: Danyel Seevers
State appearance: 1st

Grand Island Northwest 28-1
Coach: Dave Prokesh
State appearance: 1st

Lincoln Pius X 23-7
Coach: Don Rempe
State appearance: 4th (champion 2002)

Blair 20-6
Coach: Jon Small
State appearance: 9th (champion, 2008, 2009, 2010)

Seward 18-10
Coach: John Moody
State appearance: 7th (runner-up, 2009)

Elkhorn 22-7
Coach: Brad Beard
State appearance: 12th (champion, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007; runner-up, 2000, 2001)

McCook 19-15
Coach: Jason Cochran
State appearance: 12th (runner-up, 1997)


Wayne 25-4
Coach: Rob Sweetland
State appearance: 10th (champion, 2003, 2004; runner-up, 2007, 2009)

Fairbury 22-7
Coach: Taylor Biehl
State appearance: 5th (runner-up, 2003)

Wahoo 28-6
Coach: Trina Christen
State appearance: 7th (champion, 2010, 2011)

Gothenburg 25-5|
Coach: Roger Neujhar
State appearance: 5th

Arlington 22-7
Coach: Janelle Lorsch
State appearance: 2nd

Centennial 19-12
Coach: Tony Conell
State appearance: 7th

Guardian Angels Central Catholic 23-13
Coach: Allan Kreikemeier
State appearance: 2nd

Milford 15-14
Coach: Tom McCall
State appearance: 8th

Print pagePDF pageEmail page