February 12, 2016

Nebraska-Kearney tops MIAA wrestling poll

Defending National Champion Nebraska-Kearney will sit atop the first MIAA preseason wrestling poll since the 1986 campaign. Nebraska-Kearney went 6-3 in duals last season and are atop the poll in their first year as member of the MIAA. The Lopers took away three individual national champions during the 2011-12 campaign.

Central Oklahoma, who finished tenth at the National Championships last season, took away two first place votes and are picked to finish second this season. They finished last year with a 9-5 overall record in duals before placing three wrestlers in the top five at the national championship and finishing five points out of the top five nationally.

Fort Hays State, who was the third MIAA team represented at the National meet last year finishing 32nd overall, are picked to finish third in the league. The Tigers finished last season with duals record of 7-5 and had six wrestlers on the mat at the national championship.

Lindenwood who is also in their first season as members of the MIAA have been selected to finish fourth in the league by the coaches. The Lions went 4-2 in duals last season and finished fourth at the NCWA National Championship.

Central Missouri, one of two schools who competed the last time the MIAA sponsored wrestling, is picked to finish fifth this season by the coaches. The Mules went 3-14 in duals last year and did not have any wrestlers advance to the National Championship.

Truman, the other school to compete in MIAA wrestling in 1986, is picked to finish sixth in the league this season. The Bulldogs went 3-12 in duals last season and had one wrestler advance to the National Championship.

The majority of the MIAA teams will take to the mat on either Nov. 3-4 or Nov. 10-11 with most taking part in early season tournaments. With the exception of Central Oklahoma vs. Fort Hays State (Dec. 7) the MIAA season will fire up following the new year.

2012 MIAA Preseason Coaches Poll

1. Nebraska-Kearney (4) 24

2. Central Oklahoma (2) 22

3. Fort Hays State 16

4. Lindenwood 14

5. Central Missouri 9

6. Truman 5

Print pagePDF pageEmail page