February 13, 2016

Big Ten will realign divisions, Nebraska in the West

The Big Ten will do away with the Legends and Leaders Divisions and go with something much simpler and easier to remember…East and West, when Maryland and Rutgers join the league in 2014.

Nebraska will be in the West along with six other teams from the Central time zone. Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Northwestern, Purdue and Wisconsin.

The East includes Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State, Penn State and Rutgers.

Big Ten presidents and chancellors are expected to approve the divisions and division names, along with a move to a nine-game conference schedule beginning in the 2016 season. The presidents and chancellors are expected to vote next week.

East                                      West

Indiana                               Illinois

Maryland                           Iowa

Michigan                            Minnesota

Michigan State                Nebraska

Ohio State                         Northwestern

Penn State                        Purdue

Rutgers                              Wisconsin

Print pagePDF pageEmail page