February 9, 2016

Creighton officially joins the Big East

Creighton University officially became a member of the BIG EAST Conference at 12:01 a.m. on Monday, July 1, 2013.  Creighton and fellow newcomers Butler and Xavier join a BIG EAST that retains DePaul, Georgetown, Marquette, Providence, Seton Hall, St. John’s and Villanova. The partnership was announced on March 20, 2013 in New York.

The 2013-14 academic year will be the 35th in the history of the BIG EAST, a league synonymous with men’s basketball that has evolved into a well-rounded league that competes nationally at the highest level in sports across the board. BIG EAST basketball squads have captured 13 titles in the last 14 years, including men’s (Louisville) and women’s (Connecticut) hoop titles in 2012-13.

Since opening its doors in 1979, the league has won 34 national championships in six different sports and 139 student-athletes have won individual national titles through 2012-13.

The BIG EAST became a reality on May 31, 1979, following a meeting of athletic directors from Providence College, St. John’s, Georgetown and Syracuse universities. Seton Hall, Connecticut and Boston College completed the original seven school alliance.


Print pagePDF pageEmail page