August 1, 2015

Pierson-El named to Hornung award watch list

Nebraska wide receiver De’Mornay Pierson-El was named to the Paul Hornung Award watch list.THMBECNOJQQKQEF_20140914052714

The Hornung Award is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football by the Louisville Sports Commission and football legend and Louisville native Paul Hornung.

As a freshman, Pierson-El ranked second nationally in punt returns, averaging 17.5 yards per return to garner second-team All-America honors. He led the country with 596 return years and tied for the national lead with three punt returns for scores.

Pierson-El also caught 23 passes for 321 yards and four scores. He also threw a touchdown pass against Northwestern in 2014.


Stanton, Irons leave Nebraska program

Nebraska football coach Mike Riley says sophomore quarterback Johnny Stanton is transferring to another program. Stanton was the third string XYATYKDAFJROKUF_20140902145156quarterback this past season and in the recent spring game Stanton completed three of 11 passes for 19 yards and an interception.

Stanton told the Omaha World-Herald that he is headed to Saddleback College in Mission Viejo, California, which is near his home in Rancho Santa Margarita.


Riley also announced that redshirt freshman receiver Glen Irons won’t be returning to the team.


Omaha street renamed for Husker star Rodgers

Nebraska football great Johnny Rodgers is being honored by his hometown of Omaha. The city council Tuesday voted to rename Burt Street between rodgers30th and 33rd in honor of the University of Nebraska’s first Heisman Trophy winner and for his hard work as a community leader.

In three years with the Huskers, the versatile Rodgers amassed and NCAA record of 5,586 all-purpose yards. He also played a key role in college football’s “Game of the Century” in 1971 when he returned a punt 72 yards for the first touchdown in Nebraska’s 35-31 win at Oklahoma.

Rodgers authored a book entitled “An Era of Greatness” about the Nebraska football program during his playing days . He continues to live in Omaha and is well known for mentoring youth, promoting youth sports and leadership programs.

Rare opportunity: season tickets available in Memorial Stadium

EBRZMZXRZQUKSWZ_20090928151816Nebraska fans have a unique opportunity to purchase season tickets at Memorial Stadium.

According to a press release from the university, the majority of the approximately 1,500 remaining season tickets are available as season tickets for the first time in 2015 due to a change in the visiting team allotment at Memorial Stadium. Prior to this season, 4,000 tickets were held for the visiting team. However, due to Big Ten Conference visiting team ticket requirements and non-conference game contracts, that allotment has been reduced to 3,000 visiting team tickets, putting additional seats into the season ticket pool.

Individuals interested in purchasing any of the remaining available seats in Memorial Stadium can go to <> or call the Nebraska Athletics Ticket Office at 1-800-8-BIG RED.

Nebraska/BYU slated for ABC

Nebraska’s season opening football game against BYU on September fifth will be televised to a national audience on ABC, with kickoff set for 2:30 p.m. cornhuskersat Memorial Stadium. The Huskers’ matchup with BYU is the first-ever meeting between the schools. The Cougars are coming off an 8-5 record and a trip to the Miami Beach Bowl in 2014.

Nebraska leads the nation with 29 straight victories in season openers, most recently a 55-7 win over Florida Atlantic in 2014.