September 1, 2015

Huskers shift focus to BYU

Tommy ArmstrongAs game week approaches the attention in practice is shifting to week one opponent BYU. Quarterback Tommy Armstrong says the Huskers are excited to begin preparing for an actual opponent.

“We’re starting to get over that hill at the right time and we’ve got this bye week now to prepare for BYU a little bit”, said Armstrong. “Right now we’re in great shape. we just got to get a lot of things on film and correct them as we go into next week”

Armstrong says the enthusiasm is growing in practice as the Huskers start to game plan and run scout plays to get ready for the Cougars.

Newcomers will make an immediate impact

riley7Several true freshmen will see the field when Nebraska opens the season on September fifth against BYU. Husker coach Mike Riley says wide receiver Stanley Morgan, running back Devine Ozigbo, safety Aaron Williams and linebackers Dedric Young and Tyrin Ferguson will make an immediate impact.

“All of them are contributors on special teams”, said Riley. “You know a guy can initially gain value for getting a chance to play by making that part of the game important.”

Riley says that number is on par with what he has done in the past as he has played anywhere from three to seven true freshmen during his coaching career.

Gates in the mix at right tackle

Nick Gates

Nick Gates

When Nebraska opens the season against BYU there could be a redshirt freshman at right tackle. Husker offensive coordinator Danny Langsdorf says Las Vegas native Nick Gates has shown steady improvement in preseason camp.

“You know he’s a young guy that we need to have grow up in a hurry”, said Langsdorf. We challenged him early to learn and be ready to play and he has responded and is playing his best football right now.”

Gates says as game week approaches the offensive line is starting to come together as a unit.

“I think we’ve jelled pretty well”, said Gates. “I feel like I have a good connection with the other four guys.”

Langsdorf the offensive line has done a good job in pass protection but the biggest improvement is needed in run blocking.

Armstrong has green light to make plays

Tommy Armstrong

Tommy Armstrong

Nebraska may be moving to more of a pro-style offense but quarterback Tommy Armstrong still has the green light to make plays with his feet. As a sophomore, Armstrong passed for nearly 27 hundred yards and added another 705 yards on the ground to go along with six touchdowns.

Husker offensive coordinator Danny Langsdorf says Armstrong’s athletic ability is an added weapon for the offense.

“We’ve known in our past that a guy like that can really hurt a defense if things open up and he takes off running”, said Langsdorf. “We’re not going to turn him into a statue so we’re all for him making plays in the passing game and running the ball.”

Langsdorf says the coaches do want Armstrong to pick his spots and try to limit the number of hits he takes in a game.

Huskers break camp with inconsistent scrimmage

Mike Riley

Mike Riley

Nebraska football coach Mike Riley says he is still searching for consistency as the Huskers broke fall camp with their second scrimmage on Saturday. Riley says he likes to potential of his team but there were far too many negative plays on both sides of the ball.

“You know I think we look good on both sides of the ball a good portion of the time and it’s pretty good stuff”, said Riley.” But frankly that’s why days like this are hard for me. You just want it to look good all the time and it just doesn’t.”

With the start of classes the Huskers begin a normal practice routine as the prepare for the September fifth opener against BYU.