April 20, 2014

Brett Eibner’s nine RBIs sets a record day at Werner Park for the Stormchasers

Brett Eibner set a Werner Park record with nine RBI, which included two, three-run homers and a bases-clearing double, as the Omaha Storm Chasers (4-3) set new records for hits and runs in a game at Werner Park in a 20-3 win over the Memphis Redbirds (4-3) Wednesday afternoon.

The nine RBI are a new park record for Omaha, passing the seven RBI Brett Hayes put up on April 14, 2013. It was also the most RBI in a game for Omaha since Mike Moustakas put up 11 RBI during the final homestand at Rosenblatt Stadium, which is the modern PCL record.

The Storm Chasers as a team racked up 29 hits, the most ever recorded by one team at Werner Park, with seven of the nine starters collecting three hits or more.

The 20 runs put up by Omaha were the second most in the history of the park, and the most by Omaha, as the New Orleans Zephyrs hold the record with 22 runs on June 2, 2011 during the Storm Chasers first season at Werner Park. The previous high for runs by Omaha at Werner Park was 18 on June 30, 2011 against Albuquerque. It was the most runs in a game for Omaha since they also had 20 runs on August 12, 2012 at Tucson and the most hits since they put up 33 hits in that same game.

Late inning heroics by the Huskers again leads them to a win over Creighton

A three-run eighth inning lifted visiting Nebraska to a 4-2 win over Creighton Baseball on Tuesday, April 8th, spoiled the pitching performance of Bluejay freshman Jeff Albrecht.

Creighton had a three-game win streak snapped, falling to 15-11-1 on the year. Nebraska, which had three last at-bat victories over the weekend vs. Ohio State, used more late-inning heroics to win its fifth straight game and improve to 20-13.

Albrecht was dominant while working into the sixth inning. He allowed just one hit in his first 5.1 innings of work before departing with a 2-0 lead with one out after Michael Pritchard’s single up the middle.

Nebraska scored three runs in the eighth inning after John Oltman (0-1) walked Pat Kelly on four pitches and a single to Ryan Boldt put two on with one out. Creighton saves leader Bryan Sova gave up a single to Taylor Fish to tie the score at 2-all. After a groundout moved runners to second and third with two outs, Jake Placzek lined a single just past the glove of Sova to put the Cornhuskers ahead, 4-2. It was the second game-winning RBI this season for Placzek against the Bluejays.

Back-to-back walk-off wins leads Husker baseball to a series win over Ohio State

The Nebraska baseball team got above the .500 mark in Big Ten play at 4-2 and 19-13 overall, as the Huskers completed their Big Ten-opening homestand on Sunday with its second straight victory.

Tanner Lubach drove in the winning run on Sunday after Michael Pritchard picked up a walk-off single on Saturday. NU defeated Ohio State by a score of 2-1 to complete the series sweep.

The Husker will be back in action on Tuesday when they make their first trip of the season to TD Ameritrade Park for a 6:30 p.m. contest against the Creighton Bluejays, with the game scheduled for a statewide broadcast on NET. The Huskers will be home the following night against the Kansas State Wildcats at 5 p.m. The game was originally scheduled for March 4, but was postponed due to weather.

Bats come up big as Nebraska gains a split with Razorbacks

The Nebraska baseball team (16-13, 1-2 Big Ten) came up with timely hits to give the Huskers a 6-4 victory over the Arkansas Razorbacks on Wednesday afternoon at Baum Stadium to split a two-game series.
Austin Darby, Ryan Boldt and Ben Miller all had two-hits. Junior Kyle Kubat picked up the win for the Huskers, going 5.2 innings, while giving up four earned runs on eight hits while striking out four and walking three. Josh Roeder picked up his fifth save of the season, pitching the ninth inning with one hit given up and a strikeout.
The Huskers went 5-for-12 with runners in scoring position, including 3-for-3 with runners on third and less than two outs, while Arkansas could only muster one hit in eight attempts with runners in scoring position. 
The Huskers return to Big Ten play this weekend when they host the Ohio State Buckeyes for a three-game series at Hawks Field, with NU’s conference home opener set for 6:35 p.m. on Friday night.

Huskers lose early lead and fall to Razorbacks

The Nebraska baseball team (15-13, 1-2 Big Ten) fell to the Arkansas Razorbacks (18-10, 4-5 SEC) 4-3, after being held to just two hits. Tanner Lubach and Steven Reveles were the only Huskers to record a hit on the night, but the Huskers drew eight walks, including a career-high three by Austin Darby.

Steven Reveles singled in a run and another scored on a error to put NU up 2-0 in the second, but the Razorbacks tied the game on a two run double by Tyler Spoon in the bottom of the third. Later in the inning, back to back sacrifice flies extended the lead to 4-2.

A walk, sac bunt and wild pitch moved a runner in scoring position in the fifth for the Huskers who scored their final run on a fielder’s choice.

The teams wrap up the series at 1:35, Wednesday afternoon.