November 28, 2014

Bluejays win 22nd home game in a row after victory over North Carolina Central

Head coach Greg McDermott is pleased with the progress his team has made (photo/Creighton Athletics)

Head coach Greg McDermott is pleased with the progress his team has made (photo/Creighton Athletics)

Sophomore Isaiah Zierden led the Bluejays with 20 points, including 15 in the second half, while senior Devin Brooks had 12 points as the Creighton men’s basketball team picked up a 65-45 win on Sunday over North Carolina Central.  The win improves Creighton to 4-0 and extends their home winning streak to 22 games, fifth longest in the nation.

CU trailed 20-15 in a slow-paced first half before a 12-2 run capped by Brooks’ three-pointer at the buzzer gave the Jays a 27-22 lead at intermission. CU’s lead reached double-digits for the first time at 37-26 on a three-point play from Will Artino with 15:09 to play, and consecutive treys by Zierden in the closing minutes stretched CU’s lead as large as 65-43 and capped a 10-2 game-clinching run.

Creighton continues play in the Emerald Coast Classic on Tuesday night at 7:01 pm when it hosts Eastern Illinois.

Cady and Theriot lead Huskers to win over Utes

Emily Cady attempts a shot against Utah (photo/NU Athletics)

Emily Cady attempts a shot against Utah (photo/NU Athletics)

Emily Cady scored a career-high 25 points and added nine rebounds as No. 16 Nebraska picked up a 66-43 women’s basketball win over Utah on Sunday afternoon at the Bob Devaney Sports Center.  The Huskers, who played their first game on their old homecourt at the Devaney Center since March 2, 2013, improved to 4-0 on the season.

In addition to the 16 points from Cady, the Huskers got 20 points, six rebounds, six assists and four steals from junior All-American point guard Rachel Theriot. The Huskers never trailed in the game and led by as many as 27 points on their way to victory.  Cady and Theriot combined to hit 18-of-33 shots from the field to lead the Huskers, but the rest of the Big Red struggled to hit just 9-of-31 shots on the afternoon. As a team, NU hit 42.2 percent (27-64) of its shots, including 3-of-12 threes. The Huskers did hit 9-of-10 free throws.

The Huskers complete a three-game Pac-12 swing by traveling to Los Angeles to take on UCLA on Friday. Tip-off between the Big Red and the Bruins at Pauley Pavilion is set for 3 p.m.

16th ranked NU women’s basketball grabs road win at Washington State

Nebraska Cornhuskers

Nebraska Cornhuskers

All five Nebraska starters finished in double figures to power the No. 16 Huskers to an 82-61 women’s basketball win at Washington State on Wednesday night at Washington State.

Senior guard Tear’a Laudermill led NU with 20 points. Senior forward Hailie Sample added 16 points on 5-of-8 shooting from the floor and 6-of-8 free throws. Senior forward Emily Cady joined missed a double-double with 12 points, nine rebounds and five assists despite fouling out after 27 minutes.  Fellow senior Brandi Jeffery finished with 11 points for her third straight double-figure scoring performance while tying her career high with eight rebounds for the second time in three games.  Junior guard Rachel Theriot added 14 points and four assists.

Nebraska led much of the first half, with its largest lead at 28-19 with 8:50 left, but WSU used a 12-0 run, holding NU scoreless for just about seven minutes. WSU’s Louise Brown hit a 30-footer from the top of key at the buzzer to tie the game at 34.

A few minutes into the second half, Nebraska (3-0) started a 19-2 run, turning a two-point lead into a 59-40 advantage on Allie Havers’ layup with 10:35 left and the Cougars never recovered.

Creighton rallies from down 18 to knock off 18th ranked Oklahoma

Creighton's new logo was unveiled this week.

Creighton was facing a non-conference ranked opponent at home for the first time since 2001.  The Bluejays looked early on as if they were overmatched.  However, the Bluejays came back from an 18-point deficit in the second half to upset 18th-ranked Oklahoma 65-63 on Wednesday night. Many in the sellout crowd of 17,393 stormed the court after the victory.

Creighton was down 35-24 at the half and the Sooners came out on a quick 7-0 run that put OU up 42-24 on a three-pointer by Ryan Spangler.  CU head coach Greg McDermott called a timeout just 1:30 into the half and his young team responded.

Toby Hegner hit a three-pointer and Creighton made five from long distance during a seven-minute stretch where the Bluejays grabbed a 48-46 lead on Isiah Zierdan’s three-pointer.

Neither team led by more than four points the rest of the game.

Austin Chatman had 17 points, a career-high 11 rebounds and six assists.  In addition to Chatman’s first career point/rebound double-double, Hegner and Zierden both scored 11 points. Creighton shot 37.5 percent for the game and 8-for-26 (30.8 percent) from three-point range, while also sinking 15-of-21 foul shots.

Creighton beats Chicago State to improve to 2-0

Will Artino had career-highs with 20 points and five steals as Creighton men’s basketball led wire-to-wire in an 84-66 win over Chicago State on Sunday.  Creighton is now 2-0 and has yet to trail heading into a showdown with No. 19 Oklahoma on Wednesday in Omaha.

The Bluejays won 104-77 in Friday night’s season opener against Central Arkansas.  Rick Kreklow had a career-high 18 points to lead six men in double-figures as Creighton Men’s Basketball won its 20th straight home opener.