April 16, 2014

Pelini releases statement on injured player Reeves

“Ryne Reeves had full sensation and movement in all extremities following his injury at practice on Wednesday. As a precautionary measure, he was transported for further evaluation of his neck pain. All of his imaging studies were normal, and it is being treated as a cervical strain injury. Ryne will continue to be treated and evaluated, and we are optimistic that he will be able to return to practice sometime following spring break.”

Husker football to scrimmage 100 plays tonight before taking a break from spring workouts

The Nebraska football team practiced for two hours in full pads inside the Hawks Championship Center on Wednesday as the Huskers continued spring workouts.

“I’m seeing progress on both sides,” Head coach Bo Pelini said. “I’m seeing guys who are competing, and I think it’s been a productive seven practices to this point. We’ll scrimmage tomorrow night (Thursday) and go from there.”

The Huskers are continuing to implement details on both the offensive and defensive sides of the ball.

“Now we need to get into the details and the fine points that are going to allow them to have success,” Pelini said.

Offensively, quarterback Tommy Armstrong likes his receiver corps and offensive line.

AUDIO Sean Callahan reports on Armstrong.

Pelini likes the way the young defensive lineman are progressing in camp.

“Malik Collins has really had a good camp. Kevin Maurice is doing some good things, and Vincent Valentine has really flashed at times. End to end, this group is way ahead of where they were last year,” Pelini said.

The Huskers return to the practice field on Thursday for their final practice before Spring Break. The squad will return to practice on March 31 in preparation for its Spring Game, set for Saturday, April 12, at 2 p.m.


Husker QB Martinez put through WR and DB drills at NU’s Pro Day

NFL scouts were on campus in Lincoln on Thursday to put Husker seniors through drills similar to the NFL Combine during Nebraska’s Pro Day. Thirteen seniors from Nebraska’s 2013 senior class and three 2012 seniors worked out for NFL scouts and position coaches.

Receiver Quincy Enunwa and cornerback Stanley Jean-Baptiste were on hand for Pro Day after also taking part in the NFL Combine last month. In addition, Combine invitee Spencer Long went through some drills on Thursday, but he continues to recover from knee surgery. Long will have an additional opportunity to work out for NFL scouts in Lincoln in mid-April.

Taylor Martinez went through the full range of drills, and afterwards, Martinez  said he also took part in the specific quarterback drills as well as running through some drills for wide receivers and defensive backs.

For Martinez to have a shot in the NFL, he must utilize his speed and those two positions, may be his best opportunity. Martinez showed no ill-effects from a foot injury that forced him to miss nine games this past season.

Now his plans are to return to Laguna Beach, CA. and continue to work out with his quarterbacks coach Steve Calhoun.

The 2014 NFL Draft will take place in New York City from Thursday, May 8 through Saturday, May 10.

Pneumonia cause of death for Wayne State football player

Autopsy reports show that Wayne State freshman football player Eddie Key, who was found dead in his campus apartment around 7 p.m. Saturday evening, died from pneumonia. Deputy Wayne County coroner Amy Miller said Key most likely died in his sleep Saturday morning.  He was last seen alive early Saturday morning at 4 a.m.

Key grew up in Lincoln and played high school ball at North Star High School.

Funeral services are Saturday.


High school football schedules for 2014 and 2015 released

Following are the 2014 and 2015 high school football schedules for every team in every class:


Bellevue East 2014 Schedule:
Week 1 Lincoln East
Week 2 Millard South
Week 3 @Omaha Bryan
Week 4 South Sioux City
Week 5 @Bellevue West
Week 6 Creighton Preparatory School
Week 7 Omaha Central
Week 8 @Omaha South
Week 9 @Omaha North
Bellevue East 2015 Schedule:
Week 1 @Lincoln East
Week 2 @Millard South
Week 3 Omaha Bryan
Week 4 @South Sioux City
Week 5 Bellevue West
Week 6 @Creighton Preparatory School
Week 7 @Omaha Central
Week 8 Omaha South
Week 9 Omaha North

Bellevue West 2014 Schedule:
Week 1 Omaha Westside
Week 2 @Papillion-LaVista South
Week 3 Omaha South
Week 4 @Omaha North
Week 5 Bellevue East
Week 6 @South Sioux City
Week 7 @Millard North
Week 8 Creighton Preparatory School
Week 9 @Omaha Central
Bellevue West 2015 Schedule:
Week 1 @Omaha Westside
Week 2 Papillion-LaVista South
Week 3 @Omaha South
Week 4 Omaha North
Week 5 @Bellevue East
Week 6 South Sioux City
Week 7 Millard North
Week 8 @Creighton Preparatory School
Week 9 Omaha Central

Columbus 2014 Schedule:
Week 1 North Platte
Week 2 Norfolk
Week 3 @Lincoln Northeast
Week 4 @Grand Island
Week 5 Omaha Burke
Week 6 @Omaha South
Week 7 @Omaha Westside
Week 8 Fremont
Week 9 Millard South
Columbus 2015 Schedule:
Week 1 @North Platte
Week 2 @Norfolk
Week 3 Lincoln Northeast
Week 4 Grand Island
Week 5 @Omaha Burke
Week 6 Omaha South
Week 7 Omaha Westside
Week 8 @Fremont
Week 9 @Millard South

Creighton Preparatory School 2014 Schedule:
Week 1 @Papillion-LaVista
Week 2 Omaha Westside
Week 3 Omaha Central
Week 4 @Omaha South
Week 5 Omaha North
Week 6 @Bellevue East
Week 7 South Sioux City
Week 8 @Bellevue West
Week 9 Papillion-LaVista South
Creighton Preparatory School 2015 Schedule:
Week 1 Papillion-LaVista
Week 2 @Omaha Westside
Week 3 @Omaha Central
Week 4 Omaha South
Week 5 @Omaha North
Week 6 Bellevue East
Week 7 @South Sioux City
Week 8 Bellevue West
Week 9 @Papillion-LaVista South

Fremont 2014 Schedule:
Week 1 Omaha Northwest
Week 2 @South Sioux City
Week 3 Lincoln North Star
Week 4 @Millard South
Week 5 @Lincoln Northeast
Week 6 Grand Island
Week 7 Omaha Burke
Week 8 @Columbus
Week 9 Omaha Westside
Fremont 2015 Schedule:
Week 1 @Omaha Northwest
Week 2 South Sioux City
Week 3 @Lincoln North Star
Week 4 Millard South
Week 5 Lincoln Northeast
Week 6 @Grand Island
Week 7 @Omaha Burke
Week 8 Columbus
Week 9 @Omaha Westside

Grand Island 2014 Schedule:
Week 1 Kearney
Week 2 @Lincoln Southeast
Week 3 @Omaha Burke
Week 4 Columbus
Week 5 Omaha Westside
Week 6 @Fremont
Week 7 @Millard South
Week 8 Lincoln Northeast
Week 9 @North Platte
Grand Island 2015 Schedule:
Week 1 @Kearney
Week 2 Lincoln Southeast
Week 3 Omaha Burke
Week 4 @Columbus
Week 5 @Omaha Westside
Week 6 Fremont
Week 7 Millard South
Week 8 @Lincoln Northeast
Week 9 North Platte

Kearney 2014 Schedule:
Week 1 @Grand Island
Week 2 Lincoln Southwest
Week 3 @North Platte
Week 4 Papillion-LaVista
Week 5 Lincoln Southeast
Week 6 @Lincoln East
Week 7 Omaha Bryan
Week 8 @Millard West
Week 9 Norfolk
Kearney 2015 Schedule:
Week 1 Grand Island
Week 2 @Lincoln Southwest
Week 3 North Platte
Week 4 @Papillion-LaVista
Week 5 @Lincoln Southeast
Week 6 Lincoln East
Week 7 @Omaha Bryan
Week 8 Millard West
Week 9 @Norfolk

Lincoln East 2014 Schedule:
Week 1 @Bellevue East
Week 2 Lincoln North Star
Week 3 @Millard West
Week 4 Norfolk
Week 5 @North Platte
Week 6 Kearney
Week 7 Lincoln Southeast
Week 8 @Lincoln Southwest
Week 9 @Omaha Bryan
Lincoln East 2015 Schedule:
Week 1 Bellevue East
Week 2 @Lincoln North Star
Week 3 Millard West
Week 4 @Norfolk
Week 5 North Platte
Week 6 @Kearney
Week 7 @Lincoln Southeast
Week 8 Lincoln Southwest
Week 9 Omaha Bryan

Lincoln High 2014 Schedule:
Week 1 Lincoln Northeast
Week 2 @North Platte
Week 3 Millard North
Week 4 @Papillion-LaVista South
Week 5 Papillion-LaVista
Week 6 @Lincoln Southeast
Week 7 Lincoln Southwest
Week 8 @Lincoln North Star
Week 9 @Omaha Northwest
Lincoln High 2015 Schedule:
Week 1 @Lincoln Northeast
Week 2 North Platte
Week 3 @Millard North
Week 4 Papillion-LaVista South
Week 5 @Papillion-LaVista
Week 6 Lincoln Southeast
Week 7 @Lincoln Southwest
Week 8 Lincoln North Star
Week 9 Omaha Northwest

[Read more...]