October 22, 2014

Armstrong doesn’t throw any touchdowns, but comes up big on third down plays

The first three meetings between Nebraska and Northwestern were all close and after the first half it looked like it would come down to the end again, but the Huskers scored 24 unanswered points in the second half for 38-17 win.   Bo Pelini was happy with the finish.

Quarterback Tommy Armstrong Jr. completed 18-of-29 passes for 221 yards. He did not throw an interception or a touchdown pass, but he made a couple of big third down completions.  He was 5 of 6 passing on third down in the second half, able to convert and sustain drives.  He did haul in his first career touchdown catch, a 16-yard reception from freshman wide receiver De’Mornay Pierson-El after a reverse handoff from Abdullah.

Listen to the Big Red Report

Beck claims protecting the ball a trademark of Nebraska football…really? (AUDIO)

I’m not sure I would call protecting the football a trademark of NU football under Bo Pelini and Tim Beck (a term he used the other day at practice)…turnovers have always been an issue, in my mind. I could be wrong, but turnovers have been an issue against Northwestern as well.Beck says he wants to see steady ball movement from the offense throughout the game against the Wildcats

Even if the Huskers aren’t getting touchdowns or field goals, a couple of first downs and a good punt, flip the field position…don’t give Northwestern short fields to work with.  If the Huskers don’t score on drives, punts are going to be better than turnovers…NU has to make Northwestern work a little bit for their yards and points…A good defense can start with a good offense.

Listen to the Big Red Report

AUDIO: 10-16 Big Red Report

Theriot named to women’s basketball All-Big Ten preseason team. Huskers picked third by the media

Maryland was selected as the preseason conference favorite in the Terrapins’ inaugural Big Ten women’s basketball season by the coaches and media, the conference office announced on Thursday. Minnesota’s Rachel Banham garnered Big Ten Preseason Player of the Year accolades.

Iowa’s Samantha Logic, Minnesota’s Banham and Nebraska’s Rachel Theriot earned nods as Preseason All-Big Ten honorees from both the coaches and the media. Michigan State’s Aerial Powers and Northwestern’s Nia Coffey were voted to the coaches’ preseason squad, while Maryland’s Lexie Brown, Minnesota’s Amanda Zahui B. and Ohio State’s Ameryst Alston were voted to the media’s list.

Nebraska was chosen third by the media voting panel. The Huskers, who won the Big Ten Tournament and advanced to the second round of the NCAA Tournament, will return four starters to this year’s squad.

The 2014 Preseason All-Big Ten Teams and preseason polls can be found below.

2014-15 Preseason All-Big Ten Teams and Preseason Polls


1.       Maryland
2.       Michigan State
3.       Iowa


Samantha Logic, Sr., G, IOWA
Aerial Powers, So., G, MSU
Rachel Banham, Sr., G, MINN
Rachel Theriot, Jr., G, NEB
Nia Coffey, So., F, NU


Rachel Banham, Sr., G, MINN



1.       Maryland
2.       Michigan State
3.       Nebraska


Samantha Logic, Sr., G, IOWA
Lexie Brown, So., G, MD
Rachel Banham, Sr., G, MINN
Amanda Zahui B., So., C, MINN
Rachel Theriot, Jr., G, NEB
Ameryst Alston, Jr., G, OSU

*Six players recognized due to a tie


Rachel Banham, Sr., G, MINN

Nebraska’s Petteway named to All-Big Ten preseason team

Nebraska junior guard/forward Terran Petteway was honored Thursday morning, as he was chosen for the preseason All-Big Ten team.

The five-member team, which is selected from media members from around the Big Ten region, were announced prior to the opening session of Big Ten Media Day in Chicago. Petteway is a returning first-team All-Big Ten pick after averaging a conference-high 18.1 points and 4.8 rebounds per game in 2013-14.

He is the first Husker chosen to a preseason all-conference team since Aleks Maric in 2007.

In 2013-14, Petteway became the first Husker to lead the conference in scoring in over 60 years en route to earning first-team all-district accolades by the NABC (coaches) and U.S. Basketball Writers Association (writers). He was a consistent scorer for the Big Red, reaching double figures 30 times in 32 games, including a pair of 30-point outings. He had a career-high 35 point game – the most by a Husker since 2008 – against Minnesota. Petteway had many of his best games against NU’s toughest opponents, averaging 20.8 points and 4.9 rebounds in 12 games against top-50 RPI teams last season.

Petteway is joined on first team by Indiana’s Yogi Ferrell, Caris LeVert of Michigan and the Wisconsin duo of Sam Dekker and Frank Kaminsky. In addition, the conference released the top three teams in the preseason poll. Wisconsin was a unanimous choice to win the league with Michigan State and Ohio State picked second and third, respectively.

NU volleyball has nice bounce back win over Northwestern

The No. 13 Nebraska volleyball team made quick work of Northwestern with a  3-0 sweep (25-12, 25-22, 25-13) on Wednesday at the Bob Devaney Sports Center. The Huskers improved to 11-5 overall and 5-2 in Big Ten action, while Northwestern dropped to 13-5 overall and 3-4 in the Big Ten.

Alicia Ostrander led a balanced Husker attack with 12 kills, her third straight match with double-digit kills and seventh in eight matches. Ostrander hit a career-best .440 on the night. Kadie Rolfzen had nine kills and 13 digs while hitting .500. Meghan Haggerty had five kills and six blocks, while Cecilia Hall had five kills and four blocks. Mary Pollmiller had 28 assists.

The Huskers had an 11-6 edge in blocks. Although the Wildcats entered the match second in the Big Ten in digs per set in conference play, Nebraska outdug them 42-40 and also had a 7-0 advantage in service aces.

Katie Dutchman led Northwestern with seven kills. Nebraska held the Wildcats’ best offensive threat, Symone Abbott, to just three kills and a -.150 hitting percentage. She came in averaging 3.48 kills per set.

The Huskers host No. 15 Illinois on Saturday at 3 p.m. at the Devaney Center.