October 20, 2014

Husker soccer gets back to .500 with win over Indiana

A strong second half propelled the Nebraska soccer team to a 3-0 win over Indiana at the Nebraska Soccer Field on Sunday afternoon.

Caroline Flynn, Mayme Conroy and Jaycie Johnson each scored goals for the Huskers, while Kelly Schatz and Erika Johnson combined for the shutout. Schatz earned one save in 75 minutes of action before Johnson finished the final 15 minutes.

In the 12th minute, Conroy crossed to Flynn, who knocked it in from five yards out. Flynn’s goal marked her third of the season, as the Huskers took a 1-0 lead into halftime.

Conroy added a goal of her own in the 79th minute off a pass from Katie Kraeutner. Conroy’s goal marked her seventh of the season, and Kraeutner’s assist was her second of the 2014 campaign.

In the 85th minute, Johnson went the distance from midfield, juking the goalkeeper before scoring to give NU a 3-0 advantage. The goal marked Johnson’s 11th of the season, and second of the weekend.


UNK’s Morris picks up 100th victory

Darrell Morris

Darrell Morris

Juniors Bronson Marsh and Romero Cotton each ran for 112 yards and the defense came up with a goal line stand as Nebraska-Kearney beat Lindenwood, 31-13, Saturday afternoon for their second straight win.

This also is the 100th career win for UNK head coach Darrell Morris.

Kearney scored the game’s first 24 points and finished with 240 rushing yards. They came into the week as the MIAA’s second best rushing team at just over 200 per game.

Morris became UNK’s head coach in 2000 and is now 100-60. He joins Claire Boroff (169/1972-99) and Al Zikmund (121/1955-71) as Loper coaches with 100 victories.

High school softball championship scores

Class A

Omaha Marian 12, x-Papillion-LV 0, 3 inn.
Championship: Millard South 9, Omaha Marian 1, 5 inn.

Class B

Elkhorn South 5, x-Beatrice 2
Elkhorn South 3, Elkhorn 2, 9 inn.
Championship: Elkhorn 5, Elkhorn South 2

Class C

Guardian Angels CC 9, x-Wayne 4
Guardian Angels CC 10, Ashland-Greenwood 6
Championship: Guardian Angels CC 4, Ashland-Greenwood 2

High school softball scores from 10/16/14

Class A

Thursday’s games

Game 7–Millard South 14, Papillion-La Vista South 4 (4 inn.)

Game 8– Papillion-La Vista 6, Omaha Marian 2

Game 9– Omaha Marian, 9, Millard North 4

Game 10– Papillion-La Vista South 17, Lincoln Southwest 12

Game 11– Millard South 2, Papillion-La Vista 0

Game 12–Omaha Marian 5, Papillion-La Vista South 2

Friday’s games

Game 13–Omaha Marian vs. Papillion-La Vista, 11:30 a.m.

Game 14—Winner vs. Millard South, championship, 2 p.m.

Game 15–if necessary, 30 minutes after Game 14
Class B

Thursday’s games

Game 7–Elkhorn 2, Beatrice 0

Game 8–Elkhorn South 2, Gretna 1

Game 9–Blair 9, Gretna 2

Game 10–Beatrice 2, York 1

Game 11–Elhorn 4, Elkhorn South 0

Game 12—Beatrice 9, Blair 6
Friday’s games

Game 13—Beatrice vs Elkhorn South

Game 14–winner vs. Elkhorn, championship, 2 p.m.

Game 15–if necessary, 30 minutes after Game 14
Class C

Thursday’s games

Game 7–Wayne 11, Guardian Angels 1

Game 8–Ashland-Greenwood 13, Wahoo 10

Game 9–Raymond Central 11, Wahoo 5

Game 10–Wayne 9, Gothenburg 2

Game 11–Ashland-Greenwood 18, Guardian Angels 6

Game 12–Wayne 10, Raymond Central 2
Friday’s games

Game 13—Wayne vs Guardian Angels

Game 14—winner vs. Ashland-Greenwood championship, 2 p.m.

Game 15–if necessary, 30 minutes after Game 14

Thursday night football scores from 10/16/14

Fullerton 52, Howells-Dodge 46
Hay Springs 62, Crawford 18
Lincoln North Star 14, Lincoln High 10
Omaha Gross Catholic 24, Ralston 19
Parkview Christian 62, Lewiston 0
Sutherland 42, Morrill 30