The Pacific Coast League ruled Wednesday that a ball hit by Memphis’ Tyler Greene against the Omaha Storm Chasers on Monday was a double, and not an error on Omaha left fielder David Lough taking away what would have been Luis Mendoza’s second career PCL no-hitter and the first in Omaha’s franchise in 23 years.
In a statement released by the league, they said, “In response to the request by the Memphis Redbirds to review the scoring decision from the bottom of the ninth inning in their July 18th game with the Omaha Storm Chasers, the Pacific Coast League has deemed the batted ball by Tyler Greene of Memphis shall be changed from its original ruling as an error to a hit.” The change allowed Green to continue a 16-game hitting streak after Wednesday’s game.
Greene’s hit to left field was misjudged by Lough, who tried to make a catch over his head. At the time, official scorer JJ Guinozzo ruled it an error. Then the call was changed to a hit, but an hour after that, it went back to an error giving what Mendoza thought would be the final decision on his no-hitter.